Technical Assistance


9-1-1 Planning and Emergency Services

The ETCOG 9-1-1 Regional Program was formed by legislature and seeks to establish and maintain equipment, network, and database to preserve and enhance public safety through reliable access to emergency telecommunication services.  

Funding for our program comes from the $.50 charge on each telephone bill which is distributed by the Commission on State Emergency Communications.

 The ETCOG 9-1-1 Regional Program:

  • Administers planning and provisioning for 18 PSAPs (Public Safety Answering Points) in East Texas;
  • Supports addressing and mapping for 8 counties and 23 cities within the ETCOG region;
  • Supports 9-1-1 educational efforts throughout the 10 county regional program area; and 
  • Supports training of 9-1-1 telecommunicators who work with our 18 PSAPs. 

Our program covers the following 10 counties:

  • Anderson;
  • Camp;
  • Cherokee;
  • Gregg;
  • Marion;
  • Panola;
  • Rains;
  • Upshur;
  • Van Zandt; and
  • Wood.

We do not cover the counties and cities listed below because they are a part of a 9-1-1 district:

  • Harrison County and Rusk County (Texas Eastern 9-1-1 Network);
  • Henderson County;
  • City of Kilgore;
  • City of Longview; and
  • Smith County.




© 2017 East Texas Council of Governments. All rights reserved. | Website by: Site Street Home | About Us | Services | Contact Us | News | Calendar | Privacy Policy | Site Map
Equal Opportunity Employer/Program
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
Deaf, hard-of-hearing or speech-impaired customers may contact Relay Texas: 800-735-2989 (TTY) and 711 (Voice). Equal opportunity is the law.